Might As Well Dance

Because sometimes life gets a little crazy!

Monday Motivation: Like Joshua

This title made me think of the old school movie Like Mike but I kept it anyways?

Today, I start out on a new chapter of my life. I begin training to become a teacher. It’s odd that I have some nerves about this when I have been in a classroom now for the past year. It may be more nerves of excitement because I have worked a while to get to this point.

It was so fitting that yesterday at church we talked about Joshua. The short version of this story is that Joshua was scared to follow God’s plan. The pastor shared a story about when he went to an adventure camp with one of his sons and they had to climb a 50 foot wooden pole and then jump off to a bar seven feet away from the pole. He shared how scared he was. He shared how he was thankful he had someone there on belay (to catch his rope if he fell). He shared that he was glad he had this story of Joshua in his heart.

Let’s face it. We all have things in life that make us nervous, scared, or anxious. I can remember different things in my life such as: certain softball games, the first time I went repelling, going to college, and so on that gave me that knot in my stomach of nerves. I could have not completed the task but I did each one and I am so glad that I did because it made me stronger. It seems like every chapter of our life holds at least one thing that causes us that fear. Luckily, we have Joshua to tell us to:

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid;do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

I am so glad I heard that yesterday. Of course things are scary but remember no matter what you are scared of there is no reason to be scared. So here’s to just conquering another thing in a new chapter of life just like Joshua.

What is something that you were afraid of but conquered lately?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Monday Motivation: Like Joshua

  1. Pingback: WIAW « Might As Well Dance

Leave a Reply

