Might As Well Dance

Because sometimes life gets a little crazy!

Why I Crossfit

A lot of you may be aware that the Crossfit Games just concluded this weekend. It is an event that is months in the making. Early in 2012 there is a open in which any athlete can complete the five workouts and post their scores. From there the top sixty athletes in each region move onto the Regionals. Regionals is a weekend long event where the top three athletes continue on. From there the athletes compete in the games for the title of “Fittest on Earth.”

(Source)

Rewind to last October, I was an ex-collegiate athlete who was unmotivated to workout but hoping to avoid the typical post college weight gain. I saw Crossfit on TV and had a few people mention it to me. After some resistance I finally gave it a try. My first WOD (workout of the day) was 21-15-9 of squats, push-ups and sit-ups with a 250 meter run in the beginning and the end. I was destroyed. I seriously questioned that I used to play a Division I sport. I used to be in shape right? Shockingly enough I went back and realized like many others…I loved crossfit.

(Source)

I loved it because it was an awesome workout. It was normally quick and to the point. There is a great community. I started looking better physically. But more than all of that I loved/love it because of the challenge. Crossfit has given me more strength than I thought I had inside of me. Yes, I mean physical strength but more than that it has given me a mental strength. Sure, I went through some tough things playing softball but Crossfit has given me the most self-confidence I have ever had. I know I can do anything because of the way I push myself on a daily basis.

Not only has Crossfit given me a better bod (lets be honest…who doesn’t want that?) and allowed me to meet some cool people but it has made me a better person. I am up for any challenge in life and have more mental toughness than I did when I played softball. At times, I wonder what it would have been like if I had found Crossfit while playing softball. I can’t change the past now but I can shape my future by continuing to push myself to grow in mental and physical strength.

If you are stuck in a rut of working out or maybe not working out I would highly reccomend searching for a Crossfit gym/box near you. I stumbled upon an awesome one my first try at Cosmic Crossfit and have got to try some other awesome ones like Lahaina Crossfit, Crossfit 1836 and Crossfit Grafitti. I know it sounds extremely cheesy but it will change your life. It will change your perceptions, your confidence, your body and your priorities. With my whole heart, I believe everyone would benefit from Crossfit.

Have you ever tried or wanted to try Crossfit?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Why I Crossfit

  1. Pingback: Electrify the boys and girls « Power Paleo

  2. Pingback: Crossfit Goals « Might As Well Dance

  3. Pingback: Bringing the Heat Competition « Might As Well Dance

Leave a Reply

